Cetaphil

4 Feb

I love Cetaphil!!! Well, even Natalie Portman loves Cetaphil, so why shouldnt we?? *wink*

I have always had a love-hate relationship with Cetaphil in the past years. The cleanser is not foamy and it had made me felt like my skin was not throughly cleansed. Yet, what i found utterly disturbing was the fact that so many people raved about it including Jennifer Aniston and Olivia Wilde ( Fazura, a famous Malaysian actress raved about Cetaphil too, before she became Nutox’s spokesperson) Now, if those A list celebs, who could afford even Cream de la Mer use Cetaphil, well doesn’t that tell us something!!!

It’s not suprising that Cetaphil is also the No.1 cleanser recommended by most doctors and dermatologist. Why? because it’s gentle, non-irritating and is suitable for most skin types, even for those with rosacea, acne and eczema. The cleanser is lotion-like, it cleanses, moisturizes and removes grime without stripping the skin ‘s natural oil.

I need to warn you though, that it does not remove make up thoroughly, therefore i use a cleansing oil to remove make up first before using Cetaphil. Now that I’m older, I realized that Cetaphil is just perfect for my skincare regime. I use a lot of AHA, BHA and Retin A containing products and this renders my skin dry and sensitive. I love that Cetaphil keeps it balanced and supple. I have been using Cetaphil cleanser for 2 months consistently now and I truly understand why its a popular choice.

You just have to test it yourself. Give it a good try. It is available in most leading pharmacies and retails at RM 48.30 for 473mls. This would last you a good 4-6 months.

p/s Did I tell you, you can opt to use it without water if you want to. Just wipe off with a washcloth or tissue after cleansing.

image

24 Responses to “Cetaphil”

  1. Iffa Najwa February 5, 2013 at 13:31 #

    Hello Dr Za..welcome to wordpress..mudah sikit nak baca your post!…yeahh*high tone* 🙂 ahaha…alright,back to my ques..cetaphil cleanser nih sesuai x utk kulit muka y berminyak…which one y more better,lada labo or cetaphil cleanser??? tq

    • zahilah February 5, 2013 at 13:44 #

      Hi Iffa. yes Cetaphil sesuai untuk kulit berminyak dan sensitif. Cetaphil for oily skin pun ada but I prefer the original. Cetaphil ni tak berbuih so some ppl tak suka but i love it! Hada Labo cleansing oil je i pakai, cleanser x pnh try lg so xtau nk compare dear

  2. ohhhoney February 8, 2013 at 08:14 #

    love cetaphil. Been using it for years now!

    • zavanitydresser February 8, 2013 at 10:57 #

      If only Cetaphil had more products eg serum, toner , wouldnt that be great? 🙂

      • ohhhoney February 8, 2013 at 17:01 #

        yes, they make great prdts! hopefully their simple philosophy of cleansing, moisturising and sunscreen works for us in the long run! I have a feeling that those who use cetaphil cleanser will age slower than those who use abrasive scrubs/foamy ones!

  3. nar February 12, 2013 at 04:42 #

    Salam Dr.Za. May I know, which product yg u guna for make up removal?

    • zavanitydresser February 12, 2013 at 05:08 #

      Salam nar. I love cleansing oil for makeup removal. Sometimes pakai wipes kalau nk cepat tp tu x bersih sgt.You can read my favourite kat category cleansing oil.

  4. Anonymous February 25, 2013 at 04:01 #

    Salam Doc.. nak tny, cetaphil ni suitable x utk hilangkan parut jerawat? muka i dpt alahan time pregnant n now parut byk x hilang lg. huhu.. any suggestion doc? 🙂

    • zavanitydresser February 25, 2013 at 14:17 #

      Tak la dear. Sbb Cetaphil cleanser n cream mmg x designed for that. Cuba try vitamin E, Rose hip oil or hiruscar. What type of scar ? My post on acne scar – http://wp.me/p38Y7i-3B

  5. Eda February 26, 2013 at 02:59 #

    Hi doc.. sori, lupa nak letak name on my last comment. 😀
    yeke.. em rasa nye my scar jenis atrophic. but i x sure which one samada rolling or ice pick. vitamin E, rose hip oil and hiruscar ni cpt x kesan nye? which one is better doc? TQ..

    • zavanitydresser March 2, 2013 at 02:35 #

      Semua bagus. Kawan i pakai vitamin E body shop tapi x jalan dgn i. I prefer hiruscar. Semua org lain2 so susah nk ckp. Tp hiruscar mmg designed for indented scars. Gd luck!

      • Eda March 4, 2013 at 09:45 #

        ok, i will try.
        One more thing doc, u tau x the best product for reduce large pores?

        Tq.

      • zavanitydresser March 4, 2013 at 13:20 #

        Eda, Large pores result from oil and debris that collects in the pores thus enlarging them.Using products containing AHA and BHA helps remove dead cells and debris and inadvertently shrinks pore size. Products with salicylic acid, glycolic acid, and Retin A reduce pore size. So i akan cari products yg ada ingredients ni.Alternatively, try lemon + Manuka honey or homemade Aspirin scrub/mask.

      • Eda March 5, 2013 at 01:55 #

        ooo ok.. good info doc, tq so much anyway.. 🙂

  6. Didi March 11, 2013 at 11:46 #

    Salam… Hi Dr.
    I just curious…. cetaphil contains paraben right? Which people said can cause cancer…
    So what is your opinion? Is it still safe to use?

    • zavanitydresser March 11, 2013 at 12:51 #

      Hi Didi.Theres much controversy abt parabens but this is how i looked at it. It’s like avoiding msg and preservatives/colorings in food. Though, one can opt to go organic because thats the best, many cant. I agree though that Parabens are best avoided,but cetaphil doesnt stay too long on the skin coz u rinse it off.sigh.. i just love it dear, cetaphil i mean…not parabens.

      • Didi March 11, 2013 at 16:03 #

        Thanks for replying Dr.
        That’s what I read as well, that it doesn’t stay too long on the skin and relative to the surface area of our skin, the amount of paraben is too small, But of course, it is quite a debate among the users. I used clearasil before since I have acne problems, but it has been discontinued on major stores hence, back to square one.Then I read about cetaphil on your blog, I searched about it at google and there’s so many positive reviews about it. I decided to give it a try but then looking at the ingredients I remembered about parabens.. I think you said in one of the posts as well to try to avoid alcohol, parabens… So I want to know your opinion 🙂 Sorry for such a long comment… Thanks again 🙂

      • zavanitydresser March 12, 2013 at 12:41 #

        Thank you for yr comment, dear.

  7. Anonymous January 5, 2014 at 16:32 #

    omg! i love ur blog! mostly i ada sme problem with ur skin.ur blog mmg banyak membantu.thanks!

    • zavanitydresser February 21, 2014 at 13:54 #

      Im glad you like the tips. Thank you 🙂

  8. Athira February 18, 2014 at 18:00 #

    Hello there Dr. Lately I ada try some local skincare product which I have stopped because it cause my skin to become menggerutu, kulit kasar but no visible acne seen. I found out that, it was the side effect of mercury in skin care product. Now my face is terrible. And I’m trying Sebamed Clear Face product. It is recommended? What should I do? I’m anxious.

    • zavanitydresser February 21, 2014 at 13:53 #

      Whenever I have a reaction towards a product , I would usually stay off strong skincare products and use a gentle one. If Sebamed not making it worse, I guess it’s find. I however do not like medicated products like Sebamed, especially when my skin is problematic. If it doesn’t work, you may wanna try gentle cleansers like Simple or Cetaphil.

  9. Quin June 7, 2014 at 03:56 #

    Hi Dr.

    I have recently experiencing toooooouch of whiteheads. Idk how does this came about as i have never such massive attacke of whiteheads. I have only known blackheads and acne. Would cetaphil help?
    I seek for clean face.

    Hope to hear from u dr!

    • zavanitydresser June 15, 2014 at 11:27 #

      Hi Quin,

      Cetaphil is a very mild lotion-like cleanser. It does not remove whitehead but if you use medicated lotion or cream , this would be a good cleanser coz u may not want everything to be medicated. A cleanser cleans the face , but does not primarily treats skin problem.

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

O H H H O N E Y

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

