Vaseline

8 Feb

Petroleum jelly or Petrolatum is commercially known as Vaseline in the beauty world. Petroleum and beauty, haha…doesn’t seem quite right there, does it? I mean, seriously, if the ‘Fossil Feul Theory’ is true, then all these while I’ve been putting remnants of dead dinasours on my lips!!
πŸ˜›

image

Vaseline is one of the beauty item that I always have on my vanity dresser. I’m not talking about their new products e.g body lotion or cream, but their original product- pure petroleum jelly. Vaseline was the beauty staple of many of our grandmothers…ok, probably not mine and yours but I read on beauty forums about a number of bloggers’ grandma using this as moisturiser and they have great skin even now that they’re old. Hmmm…indeed interesting. Would you ever slather petroleum on your face?

I have always use it as a lip balm. It’s a darn cheap product, yet it works well for that purpose. I have also tried putting it on my face, after my moisturiser. I read about it in a magazine, and being the adventurous me, I did it for a couple of weeks, at night, with the aim of sealing the moisture. I didn’t break out (contrary to popular belief, it is not comedogenic as the molecules are just too big to even clog the pores) but I just dont bother to do it anymore now that I use Cetaphil moisturiserΒ  ( if you sleep in an air-conditioned room, use moisturiser or else the cool air will dry your skin and cause premature aging).

Celebrities like Jennifer Aniston and Tyra Banks swore by Vaseline to keep their skin well hydrated and young-looking. Apparently, they use Vaseline for the undereyes area to keep wrinkles at bay. Some people apply Vaseline to their lashes, and in 2 months or so , the lashes will appear thicker and longer.

Some other uses includes:
– mix it with your lipstick and walla…you have gotten yourself a lipgloss!

– apply Vaseline at certain points of your body, then spray your favourite scent..your perfume willΒ  last longer

– apply Vaseline over rough knees and elbows

– apply over your cheekbones for the highlighter effect.

– tame the eyebrows

– apply on your cuticles for stronger and healthier nails

– help treat split-ends for healthier hair

– treat minor cuts and abrasions

In a nutshell, dinasour is my favourite animal πŸ˜› and Vaseline will stay with me for years to come.

15 Responses to “Vaseline”

  1. Erna February 8, 2013 at 16:41 #

    lar xtahu pulok mcm kiter buleh buat dgn vaselinnn jelly nih πŸ˜‰ yay,wil apply this tips!! πŸ˜‰

    • zavanitydresser February 8, 2013 at 16:46 #

      The best part is that vaseline ni sgt murah!!!

  2. auntiEijah February 8, 2013 at 16:44 #

    bkn vaselin nih berminyak ker?..lau jdikn pelembap..lagik berminyak lar muker…dulu sy ad tp xsuke sgt..dah buang πŸ˜‰ but after read your tips..upset r pulok buang 😦 huhu

    • zavanitydresser February 8, 2013 at 16:48 #

      Suprisingly x berminyak, but of course xleh pakai siang…and jangan pakai banyak sangat.

  3. Fauziena February 8, 2013 at 16:47 #

    Hello Dr Za..glad to know you have blog!!…now,not just Dr Halina use wordpress..u also in the house!!!..basen on this topic,just wanna tell I love their lotion..yess,i know you not talk about it!! πŸ˜‰ ahaha..

    • zavanitydresser February 8, 2013 at 16:53 #

      Hi Fauziena, hows d lotion ? Best ker? U pakai lotion yg mana?

  4. Fauziena February 8, 2013 at 17:00 #

    great!!..kulit lebih lembut i think…i use lotion y pink colour tuh…sangat wangi n soft smell!! πŸ˜‰

  5. Moja February 8, 2013 at 17:10 #

    vaselin!!…love your topic!! πŸ™‚ selalu bp harge vaselin nih..want grab one πŸ™‚

    • zavanitydresser February 8, 2013 at 17:14 #

      Hi Moja! Harga rm5 camtu rasanya…

  6. Miera February 8, 2013 at 17:14 #

    Dr Za,blog nih mmg only just about skincare??…if you not mind,can share what the best shampoo utk mereka y bertudung…until now,i cnt find shampoo y sesuai!!! 😦

    • zavanitydresser February 9, 2013 at 05:51 #

      hi Miera. yeah, mainly skincare and makeup. what’s your concern? dandruff , split ends, dry hair etc?

  7. Miera February 13, 2013 at 17:25 #

    Sorry for late repliying coment..tonite baru pasan your coment πŸ˜‰ .definetly,dandruff lar Dr Za..any sugestion??

    • zavanitydresser February 14, 2013 at 10:17 #

      Miera, ni tips I. So far berkesan for me. Dan smpai skrang x de dandruff dah. I makan Apple cider vinegar jenama Bragg, kt jusco ada. Pakai head and shoulder , n gosok kulit kepala dgn limau purut. Skrang semua tu x buat n kelumumur mmg xde dah.

  8. Sneha March 6, 2013 at 09:39 #

    Vaseline is a wonder product, undoubtedly. Have been using it on chapped lips and cracked heels since years. But thanks for shwowing other uses as well. I have a very dry skin, but I am not too comfortable using vaseline petroleum jelly on my hands and legs. I use parachute advansed body lotion that has coconut oil. It works well for my dry skin. For everything else especially to get longer thicker lashes, I will consider using vaseline.

    • zavanitydresser March 6, 2013 at 11:48 #

      Sneha, it’s always a bonus when one thing can multitask and yet so cheap right. That’s why i love vaseline. I dont generally have dry skin but when i was in UK , the weather exacerbated my eczema and applying moisturiser with vaseline on top of it helped. Whatever works! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

O H H H O N E Y

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

