Make up Brush Cleanser : A Cheap Solution

17 Feb

While I’m at it, I might as well do a quick post on cleansing make-up brush the cheaper way. My first make-up brush was MAC 190, and yes, the MAC staff did try to persuade me to buy the cleanser as well…and yes, she was successful :p . I must admit that I didn’t quite like the cleanser, it was an effort to remove the foundation off the brush especially when I have kept it for days after use. I found that soaking the brush for a good 10 minutes helped but to soak it, you do need quite a lot of the cleanser. And yes, the cleanser is pricey and now that I have quite a number of brushers ( and been washing it more frequently) the cleanser is likely to rip me off my money (I might as well use the money on myself rather than my brushes!)

image

A cheaper alternative would be to use a mild detergent with olive oil. I learnt this from a video by Michelle Phan, my fav make-up guru on Youtube. I added one last step at the end though- shampoo. I previously tried washing with shampoo alone but I find that it didnt quite remove the makeup.

image

image

image

image

Final wash with Head & Shoulders Shampoo. Just in case those goat hair has dandruff…ok, ok that was a lame joke :p ! I only need a teeny weeny bit because the olive oil and detergent have done their major bit.
I let that soak for a couple of minutes. Try not to get the water to touch the handles, you guys!

image

Leave to dry. Notice how clean the bristles are!
XOXO

4 Responses to “Make up Brush Cleanser : A Cheap Solution”

  1. Shiks February 17, 2013 at 15:20 #

    First thing first..za! You own so many brushes! Hehehe okay this is definitely a very good tip indeed! 🙂

    • zavanitydresser February 17, 2013 at 15:29 #

      Hehe…years of collecting dear, and thats not all of it. :p

  2. Niniey May 4, 2013 at 14:11 #

    Dear Dr. Za, where do u normally shop ur makeup beside sephora..?

    • zavanitydresser May 13, 2013 at 13:43 #

      Isetan KLCC, Guardian and Watsons 🙂

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

Ohh, Honey

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

