DIY : Cinnamon Mask & Spot Treatment

22 Feb

Inexpensive and natural. Nothing beats DIYs straight from your kitchen. Suffice to know that if all skincare companies in the world close down (as if that would ever happen :p), rest assure that your grocery store can fix your skin issues! 🙂

I did a post on DIY using Aspirin, 2 weeks ago and the feedback from my readers were very interesting. I have previously tried some of the tips they mentioned with variable results, but somehow I was prompted to give cinnamon another try. The thing about cinnamon is that I was always too lazy to grate it, so I only used it when I could get my mom to do it for me (spoil brat I know..I know :p).

I did a little research about skincare and cinnamon with Dr. Google and found out that it is widely known across the globe and indeed a popular DIY tip! Silly me, I thought only the Malays do this (coz I imagined ‘makcik-makcik’ and my mom grating the cinnamons :p ) * slaps face. Haih!

image

Anyhoo, now that ground cinnamon and other spices are easily available, DIYs are so much simpler and hassle-free. This certainly increase my compliance rate 🙂

image

Cinnamon has been traditionally used as spice in food and as medicine for centuries. It is also said to be beneficial to the skin as it draws blood and nutrients to the skin surface. However, it can cause harsh effects like irritation and dryness and is therefore best used with other medium like extra virgin olive oil or honey.

Some of its popular skincare uses include:

1. For acne

Cinnamon dries acne and brings oxygen to the surface to declog pores.The most popular tip I read is to mix it with honey and dab over the blemishes and keep overnight. I personally like it with just water, have it on for 10-15 minutes and then wash it off. I repeat this a couple of times a day on weekends when I dont go out. Stings but nothing you beauties cant handle! Follow with moisturiser, a must.

image

Adding nutmeg to cinnamon and honey apparently will heal acne scars!

2. For facial mask

This is when I have it with honey. Keep for 20 minutes and wash off. Plumps the skin. Great for oily and acne-prone skin.

3. For scrub

Errr…no. Although once mixed with water, the consitency feels like aspirin or microbeads scrubs but apparently cinnamon is too harsh to be used as exfoliator. So, I wouldnt even try that!

4. For hair lightening

Apply conditioner on dampen hair first so that the cinnamon can stick to your hair.Make a paste using cinnamon and water and rub or brush it through your hair. Put on a shower cap and leave overnight. Shampoo and rinse off the next morning! You may want to repeat a few times for the desired color. No chemical, love this!!!!

Much love 😉
XOXO

4 Responses to “DIY : Cinnamon Mask & Spot Treatment”

  1. simplyasweettale February 23, 2013 at 01:35 #

    wanna try for the hair!!

    • zavanitydresser February 23, 2013 at 13:12 #

      Beautiful!

  2. bazilahyunus February 23, 2013 at 08:41 #

    try scrub of coz!!..ahahaha..muke saye berminyak ok 😦

    • zavanitydresser February 23, 2013 at 13:08 #

      Then shd use it as mask dear.

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

O H H H O N E Y

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

