Sheet Mask

2 Mar

I think Asian skincare companies are totally taking over the beauty world. I was walking into Watsons a few weeks ago and was suprised to see the array display of sheet masks. My goodness, a section entirely for sheet masks alone! Majority of them were Asian sheet masks from Korea, Japan and Taiwan. What a revolution it has become and now even the Western skincare companies are coming up with their own.

image

image

Great values . Love Watsons for the discounts. Some are even less than RM5 per mask.
P/s Hey, notice the K-pop-looking guys on the packaging? I broke into laughter the moment I saw that!!!! I wonder if the company was targeting male customers (ok..ok…males wanna look good too :p ) or K-Pop-loving teenage girls?! Hmmm…I think i might wanna try one of those out of curiosity :p Haha

Anyway,

What are sheet masks?

Sheet masks are serum/essence-packed masks that are designed for whitening or moisturizing purposes. Due to the its sudden popularity, many different type of sheet masks are produced by skincare companies with essences like hyaluronic acid, collagen, sake yeast etc. The application is easy and so convenient that many love these kind of masks for self pampering. In fact, some love to use them on flights because of the poor cabin air ( a great idea but im not vain enough :p ) or while on holiday for that relaxing feeling. It’s a great pick-me-up and if you need a SOS for an event/party/interview, sheet masks are your saviour for that instant fairness and radiance.

The mask is meant to be left on the skin for 15-20 minutes while the skin absorbs the nutrients in the serum. Serum is my favourite thing in the world and is a vital component in my skincare regime or anyone more than 30, read my post on serum here. There is usually a generous amount of serum in the sheet mask and I sometimes tend to leave them longer because it seem like a total waste if I didnt. However, I read that it’s not good to leave it on too long due to the drying effect so I slather the remaining wet sheet on my arms and neck when i take it off. No need to rinse. Pat the remaining solution into the skin.

My favourite, I must say is the Fabula sheet mask. I got a free sample from Watsons some time ago and immediately fell in love with it once I tried. I googled and found out that it was priced at RM35 which is expensive for one use only ( some brand are way more expensive e.g SKII but apparently many raves that it works, I dunno, just not a fan of SKII ). I bought the Fabula masks at 15% off and received 2 pairs of anti-ageing eye masks free with each purchase (feeling like a smart cutomer here πŸ™‚ ). It targets whitening and moisturizing but the best thing about this mask is that it is not a paper cloth mask like other sheet mask but a biofiber, nano cellulose kind. Though some sheet masks are meant for 2-3 times a week, some daily, but Fabula mask is to be used once a week.

image

The company says : The bio-cellulose mask is made of plant-fermented nano fibers so there is no industrial fabric in this mask. It fits the skin perfectly and provides effective penetration of essence into the skin while air and moist breathes through the mask. 200x moisture ( i second this)

I say : Simply love it. Non irritating. Richly soaked with essence. Moistusrising definetely. Great at times of stress (Im having it on now…heaven!!) Whitening maybe..

image

image

So much extra essence. I pat them on the mask and neck. Didnt leave a single drop to waste!

The other brand that hit the beauty world by storm is My Beauty Diary. Also another favourite minus the fragrance. I dont like skincare products with sweet smell, they just dont feel right plus not good for the skin too. After much blogs and reviews reading, I decided to buy the Black Pearl. I tend to go for whitening products .Seriously, the moment i took it off I was suprised. I looked…fairer ( or pale rather..even my husband noticed the difference and he normally doesnt..haha). Another blogger described her experience as looking pale as well…so I guess it worked? But the effect doesnt last. I think it was probably the essence residue or something but apparently this mask receives much raves and likes from customers for it’s whitening effect after multiple use. One box contains 10 masks and retails at RM39.90.

image

image

I think next time I’ll buy single mask and this way I can try many different types. I read that many like Neutrogena’s and Sake Yeast from My Beauty Diary.
Have you tried sheet masks? What are your favourites?

12 Responses to “Sheet Mask”

  1. simplyasweettale March 4, 2013 at 07:06 #

    i have tried once. the one from watson. the moment i put it on, i feel ichy..badly ichy. no. not ichy..something like burning!!! i got scared and immediately removed. omg..nased baik takde apa apa..tapi ichy for few hours…fuhh. stick to my traditional egg white mask πŸ˜‰

    • zavanitydresser March 4, 2013 at 13:05 #

      Oh dear!! Brand apa tu? Mcm mcm sheet mask kat Watsons tu kan, some of them pun i tak berani try.

  2. linda March 6, 2013 at 02:46 #

    salam kak za! apa kabar?

    bace entry kak za i lough myself. haha..actually the whole of my life tak pnh cube sheet mask. and im the person takut nak cube put something on face. karang kalau naik jerawat..wa..!!!nak tgk cermin pun mulala nak start drama swasta. T_T. hehe..btw just share, last week gatalla tgn g beli sheet mask garnier 2 in 1 for brightening. nak cr yg utk pore tak jumpa pulak. bila nak pakai dlm hati ya Allah harap2 tak de apala jd. hahaha..than 1st few 2nd rase mcm tersiat2 sikit. takla sakit sgt..but maintain lg..lama2 hilang..and guess what??? lps take off 20 minute later, wa!!! feeling dia mmg best!!! terus g basuh muka ngan facial wash. and double best!

    • zavanitydresser March 6, 2013 at 11:52 #

      Hi Linda. Im good, busy sikit lately.
      Garnier yg mana linda pakai? Ingat nk cuba jugak Garnier Intensive brightening mask. Akak perasan garnier ada yg sheet mask n ada yang pakai then basuh type. Kak za pulak mmg kaki try, naik pimples w certain products tp x penah plak serik.haha

  3. linda March 7, 2013 at 06:14 #

    hai kak za!

    linda cube 3 in 1 actually..not 2 in 1..hahaha..intensive 3 in 1 whitening essence mask. mase 1st time pakai derma, linda ada beli jugak mask. but is liquid. ok juga so far. πŸ™‚ oh! kak za tak mampu rase nak menghadapi pimples, mcm kak za ckp nak fight with pimples much more easier than fight with the scar!! hehe

  4. bazilahyunus March 10, 2013 at 05:21 #

    hansaegee nature is best mask for m..terase essence masok teros kat muker!! πŸ™‚ extra essence dia pon mmg banyak ok!..ehehe

    • zavanitydresser March 11, 2013 at 02:58 #

      Glad it worked for you. Will put in my list of ‘must-try’ πŸ™‚

  5. Shiks March 10, 2013 at 14:49 #

    Pampered myself today. Started with a haircut, wash and blow and now, sheet mask! Hehehe

    • zavanitydresser March 11, 2013 at 03:02 #

      Shikin, i have not had a hair cut in ages!! Hehe…allocating 20 minutes each week for sheet mask, it’s a great n probably the easiest de-stressor available.

  6. Siaw Tan April 5, 2013 at 11:57 #

    Have you ever tried SexyLook sheet mask? They were really good.

    I’ve tried two of their products previously and the moisture level is very high.

    I personally liked SexyLook more than My Beauty Diary.

    • zavanitydresser April 6, 2013 at 02:36 #

      Hi Siaw. Nope i have not tried sexylook sheet masks. Where can i get them? After a while now, im not liking my beauty diary masks.been trying someother brands.

      • Siaw Tan April 6, 2013 at 02:49 #

        I previously got mine from Watsons though at RM5.90 each. They don’t sell it in bulk but individual pieces.

        So, not to worry buying in bulk and not suitable for own skin condition in the end.

        My Beauty Diary is good for the first couple of usage but average after some time.

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

O H H H O N E Y

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

