DIY : Oatmilk Sheet Mask

26 May

Yesterday was ‘Me, Myself and I’ Day. I have been longing for some self-pampering , so I decided to drop at the Dermalogica Salon 5 minutes from home for a facial. I used to have my facials done here regularly but stopped more than 6 months ago when I changed my skincare.

I seriously have forgotten how great it is to have someone else cleanse your face and all you do is lie down and enjoy the slow music (I didnt quite appreciate it, I was talking with the beautician all the time! :p ) .

After cleansing, steam and extraction, then face massage, it was time for a mask. The first thing that caught me was the smell. I remembered it straight away. Oat mask!! This was the part I love the most, even back then. The oat was in the form of paste and was slathered on my face while it was still warm, because the pores would be open then. This remove impurities but at the same time allows the skin to absorb the nutrients from the oat.

So that inspired my post today : Oat!

However, mine is gonna be a different type of mask. I used the oat with the sheet masks I bought at Daiso at RM5 (for 12 sheets). The stretch type lotion mask is also another name for sheet mask. That one is by Kose at RM25 for 6 sheet,well.. better quality and fits the face better, though the ones by Daiso are not too bad comparatively.

image

I use oatmilk powder for this DIY. Just add in warm water and stir well. I made mine thicker than usual but you can make it at lighter consistency.

image

image

image

Just wrap it and immerse the sheet in your solution. Let it soak all the oatmilk.

image

Then, uncover the sheet mask and put on the face. I had a hot oatmilk drink while having the mask on. Yummy!

You can read the benefits of oat in my previous post here.
Alternatively, you can wet your sheet mask with water, squeeze it between your palms to remove excess water.Then pour some toner or lotion on the sheet mask, and voila , it’s ready for use. Thst’s why it is also called ‘lotion mask’.

Till then…
Xoxo 🙂

4 Responses to “DIY : Oatmilk Sheet Mask”

  1. erma May 26, 2013 at 12:25 #

    Yippiee…. at last..hahahh… i love dr ‘s idea about DIY.. thanks 4 sharing..

    • zavanitydresser May 26, 2013 at 14:57 #

      Thanks Erma. Glad u like it!

  2. sillyshiks May 26, 2013 at 15:57 #

    I am having major breakouts now:( started during study week…and it is still ongoing!! sigh mcm adolescent pulak rasanya.. any advice?

    • zavanitydresser May 27, 2013 at 05:51 #

      SIllyshiks, must be stress-induced. Try Overnight Clearing Gel by Dermalogica or add some water to benxoyl peroxide 5%. I find oat very helpful when the face is red. Do 3 times a day, it does lessen d redness. Dont use anything harsh i.e mechanical scrub. Use mild stuff except for d spot treatment.

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

O H H H O N E Y

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

