My Vanity Dresser’s Current Favourites

17 Aug

It has been a while since I last updated this blog. I must say it’s rather dusty *sweep*.  I thought I’d share some of my current favourite items, so here goes..

image

From left :
1. Kiehl’s Calendula Herbal Exract Toner
I’m loving this stuff like crazy!! The best toner I have ever tried. Honest ! Must be the Calendula. It’s a herb that helps soothe and calm the skin.  Calendula is a popular ingredient for skin condition like eczema. This product is suitable for normal and oily skin. No Alcohol . I love the cool sensation it gives me. Now, all good stuff has some bad stuff. In this case, it’s methyparaben. Sigh. Can i just close one eye, please?!

2. Shu Uemura Skin Purifier
I know this is an old product of Shu Uemura and my friends have been raving about this for the longest time. Come to think of it , why didn’t I try it sooner?? It’s THE BESTSELLING product of the brand and now I understand why. I chose the one meant for pore clarifying. Will repurchase , very likely!!

3. Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective White : Purifying Foaming Cleanser.
I read somewhere that cream cleanser is a better choice for those aged 30 and above. I have a tendency for whitening/ brightening range but apart from the well-cleansed feeling I get after I wash my face, I can’t say that it whitens  or brightens my skin. I have always been skeptical about cleansers that claim such because it doesnt stay long on the skin to exert effect if any ( yet I buy them. Haha). I love that it doesnt give me the ‘tight’ feeling or dry out my skin.

4. For Beloved One Melasleep Whitening Bio-cellulose Mask.
Love , love, love!!  I purchased the product at sephora, in fact I bought the whole range . I have to say I love all the products, but as you know I’m rarely loyal when it comes to skincare or makeup brands (except a few). Pricey yes, but I must say this one works. A bestseller in Taiwan and a favourite of Oriental celebrities ( said the promoter, i believed her..haha). The mask is different – it’s like having a cream on a bio-cellulose mask.

image

From left

5. Lóccitane Supple Skin Oil
Guess how I got to know about this product? From my 84 year old grandma!! Guess how she got it ? My 64 year old uncle suggested to her , and no he’s not Lóccitane promoter or manager!! I was so curious I squirted some of my grandma’s and boy, it’s the best body moisturiser one can find. The fact that it’s Almond  Oil ( I love all kind of oils …not cooking oil of course!) is a plus point for me as it is known for it’s antioxidant and moisturising properties. The product is lightly scented and I love the fresh aroma that it leaves the skin with.

6. Laniege Water Supreme  Finishing Pact
Best compact powder I have ever tried!! This is way better than Benefit or Dior. The powder is so fine and it doesn’t give you the cakey  look. This is a definite repurchase item!

7. Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution
Serum is a must if you are in your 30s. I love that the serum is easily absorbed , brightens the skin and acts like a moisturiser as well.  Prior to this, I used HABA’s White Lady – causes break outs if used too much , even the promoter warned me about this.

8. Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler
This has served me for 8 years. To be honest , I rarely use it . Now that I have ditch eyeshadows and mascaras, perhaps I will use the curler more often. I am trying to keep the makeup simple now that I’m older. ( I said trying ..haha) Less is more,  Hmmm…ok.

Till then . XOXO

8 Responses to “My Vanity Dresser’s Current Favourites”

  1. asyura705 August 17, 2013 at 09:32 #

    salam dr za,
    loves to read your blog since it giving a lot of
    beauty info.Dr,i would love to ask u few questions

    1.What is your opinion about clarisonic mia?have u or
    friends have used it before?
    2.what is your point of view as a doctor regarding taking
    collagen drink as supplements to our skin?
    3.what is different between high end skin care such as
    kielhs,origins,sk11 compare to normal price skin care such as
    safia rania gold,bio essence,nivea etc in term of quality,their
    result and the ingredients itself
    4.since my skin type is more likely same like u,combination type
    (oily in T zone,dry on cheek,large pores).
    Based on ur opinion and experience,can u suggest suitable cleanser,
    toner and moisturizer that will not dry out my skin or make it
    more oily.

    Haha,so many question.Hope u do mind answering.Tq so much Dr Za.
    Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri,Maaf Zahir dan Batin

    • Za September 8, 2013 at 08:56 #

      Dear Asyura,
      I have been contemplating about getting the Clarisonic Mia myself. And I think Mia 2 is already out in Sephora. I cant tell you if it’s good cause i myself have never used it and none of my friends are vain enough to purchase a RM500 something beauty tool :P. I do not know if I’d purchase it in the future because I actually planned to buy it but then decided not to because I read review that some people gets breakouts. At my age , I cant afford to go through that again ..hehe. The brush apparently is not as delicate as it claims for sensitive skin. I dunno. If you do buy it , do let me know. 🙂

      I can answer your collagen question but not as a doctor, mainly because it is not my area of expertise. My aesthetician friends would say – you will only get expensive urine – basically it doesnt work ! hmmm… from experience , it does work . My favourite is GNC Lac which I used in combination with their whitening powder. I have also tried Aura white and I think that one is okay too. I didnt like Double Stem Cell though. ( My nurses at work are crazy about all these so I often get lured into taking them as well :P) The effect was mainly brigtening , few of my friends did say I looked radiant ( chewah .. haha , yg kata ni yang cakap setakat urine je mahal 🙂 ) but I have to tell you one thing , the effect doesnt last . I lost the radiance when I stopped using it ! So , no it may not be worth it unless u r preparing for some big function , wedding etc kot

      To be continued. Nanti I jawab soalan lain k .

      • linda September 9, 2013 at 02:29 #

        hi kak za..apa kabar? bila org tanye pasal mia 2 i was so excited to wait what your opinion..hahaha. actually linda pun ada plan nak beli sbb terpengaruh ngan beauty blog. most of them gune and review mmg best sbb brush dia ada byk jenis. TAPI!!!! jual kat malaysia mahal gile! make me think beratus kali it is worth it nak beli?? hahahha. then one day one of fren kat singapore bg tau olay ada kuarkan juga and the price $49.90. wah!! terus beli..hahaha. 1st time gune mmg best. kulit mmg smooth mcm br lps scrub, tp linda ada buat homework sikit mase nak beli mia 2, ada kata blh breakouts. tp jgn gune everyday. gune seminggu 2 kali dah ok. tp kalau nak bandingkan ngan mia 2, olay saiz dia kecil sikit and gune bateri, and takde auto stop mcm mia. mia gune seminit dia akan berenti sendiri and blh charge. tp okla gune olay pun. best jugak lps gune especially kat dagu. smooth!

  2. Bazilah Balqis August 17, 2013 at 17:22 #

    Hello Dr.Za 😉 30 above only? Haha..saya baru 19 !! 😉

    • Za September 8, 2013 at 08:57 #

      Bazilah , 19 tak yah laa pening kepala pakai semua ni ok!!! 🙂

  3. erma August 18, 2013 at 11:09 #

    Yeayyy…!! new entry.. 🙂 sweep da dust.. haha..
    Selamat Hari Raya Dr. Za.
    Maaf Zahir Batin.

  4. Zai August 27, 2013 at 02:14 #

    Dr Za, what’s wrong with methyparaben? Another thing, can you share what is the best vitamins for skin? I have very dry skin

    • Za September 8, 2013 at 09:00 #

      I shall write on those in my future post ok. in sha Allah

Leave a Reply

BARELY SUPERMOMMY

The (mis)adventures of me coping with mommyhood and life..

O H H H O N E Y

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

singing shipwrecks

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats. - Voltaire

